Showing posts with label runestone. Show all posts
Showing posts with label runestone. Show all posts

Sunday, July 30, 2017

Farsø church, Himmerland, Vesthimmerlands Kommune




Farsø Sogn is a parish in western Himmerland in Vesthimmerlands Kommune..Until the reform in 1970 it was in Gislum herred (Aalborg Amt). Farsø Kirke is situated in Farsø village 12 km west of the town Aars. The church was restored and had the walls replaced in 1991.


The church in Farsø was possibly inaugurated to Our Lady in the Middle Ages. The choir and nave are Romanesque in finely carved granite ashlars above a double plinth. Both original doors are preserved. The southdoor is bricked up. In front of the southdoor is a Romanesque grave stone. In the southern wall of the choir is a somewhat worn-out chess board ashlar. At the northern wall of the nave is a grave stone for Anne Cathrine Ørum of Farsø, who died in 1726, the grave stone is a re-used Romanesque profile ashlar, around the stone are several Romanesque building remains. The north door is still in use , here is a tympanum with a double lion like the lions on the baptismal font. In the porch is a rune stone; the inscription is: Toste og Esben rejste denne sten over Tue..... in the bottom of the stone is a Viking ship, maybe this is Nagelfar, the death ship in the Ragnarok-legend. (the Armageddon). The tower was built in the late Gothic period, the porch is from present time. Upon the new church yard is an obelisque-like stone, decorated with cross-shaped birds, carved by Erik Heide. 

Upon the church yard south of the church is a grave site for veterinarian Hans Jensen (died 1923) and his daughter, the author Thit Jensen (died 1957). Hans Jensen was the father of the author Johannes V. Jensen and Thit Jensen. Some years before her death Thit Jensen moved to Farsø and lived directly south of the church. Johannes V. Jensen is buried in Bispebjerg church yard in Copenhagen.


The Romanesque choir arch is preserved with a slant plinth. The choir has a beamed ceiling, the nave had a vault in the late Gothic period. The altar piece is from the late 1800s, the painting made in 1943. The original painting is now placed upon the church wall. The pulpit is from the beginning of the 1600s. The Romanesque granite font has double lions and male heads in strong reliefs.

Upon the triumph wall to the north hangs a crucifix, carved by Johannes Josephsen from Viborg in 1965, the figure is carved after the ivory crucitfix from ab. 1250 in Herlufsholms kirke. In the choir is an epitaph from 1651 for Søren Hanssøn Wiborg. A sculpture by Thorvald Odgaard hangs upon the southern wall of the nave from 2004. It shows the angel by the empty grave.


In Farsø is a museum for Johannes V. Jensen  and memorial rooms for Thit Jensen.


http://www.jensenmuseet.dk/


http://www.visitvesthimmerland.dk/thit-jensens-mindestue-gdk623594

Upon the nave was in 1904 revealed frescoes from the middle of the 1500s. The motifs were from the old and the new testament. The frescoes are attributed the Torum master and was paid by Poul Vognsen and wife Anne Hansdatter Bildt of Støtterup. (in the 1500s) The frescoes were washed over again. In 1989 some frescoes were revealed and restored in the first bay of the nave.

photos from wikipedia





Johannes V. Jensen:










Sunday, June 15, 2014

Gunderup church/ Gunderup kirke, Fleskum herred, Aalborg amt.






















Gunderup church, ( the name in 1355 Gundorp), lies 13 km south of Aalborg. It is a large building with Romanesque choir and nave and late Gothic additions, among others a chapel with frescoes from the beginning of the 1500s. The church lies desolate in Gunderup village. It was by people called Himmerland's cathedral, both because of its size, but also because of its central situation as a crossroad-church in a large parish. The Romanesque choir and nave are built in granite ashlars above a bevelled plinth. Both doors are kept, the south door is bricked, the north door still in use. The north door has profiled corbels, it is curved outside and straight edged finish inside, in the treshold stone is carved a cross. In the southwall of the choir is a bricked door with a heavy rundstav (round stick) which in the bottom rests profiled bell-like bases. In the south wall of the church is an ashlar with a hand holding a key, probably a symbol of Sanct Peter. At the south side of the nave is a cross arms-chapel,  a sacristy to the north, tower and porch are built in the late Gothic period.


 
















Runestones
In the porch are two runestones with inscriptions:

a) Toke rejste disse stene og gjorde disse kumler efter sin måg Api en velbyrdig thegn og sin moder Tove. De ligger begge i denne høj. Api undte Toke sit gods efter sig. (" Toke raised these stones and made these memorials after his stepfather Api, a noble-born man (thegn) and his mother Tove.They both lie in this hill. Api gave his goods to Toke.") The hill was demolished in the 1700s, but the stone was saved by Gunderup's parish priest.


 b) "Østen satte denne sten efter sin fader Asulv". ("Østen raised this stone after his father Asulv."
This other stone is  probably from Sweden according to several Swedish runes in the short inscription. It is dated to the 800s.

The building was restored in 1914.
 




Interior
The high choir arch is kept with profiled corbel bands and a corniche plint. In the late Gothic period the choir and nave got a cross vault. Between nave and south chapel are two point-arched arcades. The stairs to the pulpit are built through the arcade pillar. The altarpiece is a Lutheranian triptychon from 1537-38 and the earliest Lutheranian altarpiece in Denmark. The pulpit is also a great rarity . It is from the 1790s and one of few classical pulpits in Denmark.

Unique lion font.
The Romanesque granite font has double lions with intertwined tails upon the basin. It is of the Himmerland-Mariager type. Together with the font in Stenild church at Hobro the font in Gunderup is the most magnificent of its kind. 

























 Frescoes
In 1930 frescoes were uncovered from the late Gothic period in the south chapel. Upon the arcade pillar is Mary seen in solgissel, (sunbeams) in the curve is Christoffer. In the vaults are other biblical motifs. The frescoes were conserved by E. Lind. Some coat of arms for Rod and Vårst were not preserved. The frescoes are dated ab. 1500, the style is mannered and the composition is messy.




photo: Google earth and wikipedia. 

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Eltang church/ Eltang kirke, Brusk herred, Vejle amt.

Eltang church, wikipedia




Eltang church lies upon a sloping hill surrounded by granite boulder dikes with a bricked driving port and a gate. The church has choir, nave, porch to the south and a tower at the western gable. The choir and nave are Rmanesque, built in raw boulders with carved corner ashlars and a profiled plinth. Upon the north side are kept two Romanesque windows. The north door is bricked up, it is seen as a glare. The south door is still in use. The choir gable, where earlier were three bricked up windows, was rewalled in 1943. The tower is a late medieval addition in monk bricks with a pitched roof, a vaulted bottom room and a pointed arch towards the nave. The church was restored several times. Three sides of the tower are re-bricked,  maybe in 1788. The nave and porch have also in recent times been equipped with wooden cornices . and bricked dentils. The choir arch is extended inside and is covered in a plaster ceiling, while the nave has a grey painted beamed ceiling.

Eltang church, Google earth.


The altarpiece in Renaissance from ab. 1600 has foot and top piece, both with outsawed sidewings, in the main  field is a newer painting by G. Schleissner 1877, given by N. Th. Flensborg. The altarpiece was decorated in 1925 with silver and gold upon a redbrown base. Upon the communion table stand two sets of  altar candelabres 1) late Baroque with winding shafts (without inscription)  and 2) given 1934 in memory of N. Th.Flensborg and wife. A Romanesque font in granite with arcade-motifs upon the belly. A pulpit from the late 1500s in Renaissance with Tuscany ornamental columns framing round arched fields, the decotation is from 1925 like the altarpiece. A wellkept large choir arch crucifix  from late Middle Ages on the south wall. A plank is kept from a gallery, which was removed in 1900; it says that it was put up in 1686 "in the times of Hr. Peder Clausen Emmeløf". The present pews are new from the late 1800s. At the south door an old, high iron bound money block in oak. Series pastorum upon the western wall. In the porch two gravestones  1 ) Christen Jørgensen Bul (+ 1652),  2) parish priest Jørgen Hansen Seidelin (+ 1780). The church bell was cast in 1588 by Mathias Benninck.

Ellinggård, owner in 1960s N.C. Sandager.The main building might origin from 1787.

Nørre Stenderupgård belonged in 1773 (then named Stenderup avslgård) to justitsråd Søren H. Seidelin  /+ 1798), later to mayor in Horsens Andreas Flensburg (+ 1790),  from 1782 to his son Th. Flensburg (+ 1830) who was priest in the parish, from 1816 to his son Andreas N. Flensburg (+ 1843), whose widow Christina Birg. Monrad in 1844 married merchant in Århus, borgerkaptajn C. Bentzen (+ 1857), whereafter her brother-in-law Niels Thygesen Flensburg (+ 1881) bought the farm in an auction, which came to his son Christian August Flensborg,  in 1893 to his brother Andreas Vilhelm Flensburg, and in 1899 his son Niels Thygesen Flensburg. In 1933 it was sold to J.N.Nielsen (+ 1955), whose widow fru Martine Nederby Nielsen in 1962 transferred it to their son J.Nederby Nielsen.

Hr. Jens Lavesen deeded in 1308 for 5 1/2 mark silver land in Eltang field to the brothers Peder and Gøde, who at the same timed was deeded 2 farms in Stenderup ny Niels Tap.

In 1947 was in the outdried Eltang vig (cove) digged out the rests of an early medieval ship, which is now in the city Kolding.

The farms Østergård (1436 Østhergardt) and Vestergård (1436 Vesthergaardt) were owned by Inger Hermansdatter (Pennov), who in 1436 deeded them to Ribe Chapter. In the parish is also mentioned in 1683 the farm Vesterskov.
view to Gudsø vig, Google earth.

Upon a field in Lilballe were in 1875 found 65 coins, mainly Danish, German and Netherlandish., the latest coin was from Frederik III 1653.

In a clearance in an alder moor in Eltang was in 1860 found a bottle under a big stone with 611 coins from 1694-1734.

During digging in a peat bog in Eltang were in 1870 found 85 coins Hanseatic witten (21) and
silver finding Eltanggård, Kolding lexicon.
hulpenninge (44) English sterlings (20) and 5 little gilt silver jewelry, all put down ab. 1360-70.

At Eltanggård was in 1941 discovered a considerable silver finding from the time of the Swedish wars.

Listed prehistorics: a long dolmen without chamber in Sletteskov, the chamber stone was after Frederik VI's order used for Gudsø bridge. Furthermore two hills at Eltanggård.

Demolished or destroyed:one dolmen and 21 hills, mainly in the southeastern and eastern section of the parish.      

In Gudsø vig(cove) were in the mud several prehistorics from Ertebøllekulturen, among these an entire clay lamp.



A fragment of a runestone, which was found near Nr. Stenderup, is now at the National Museum, the short inscription, which seems medieval, cannot be interpreted.









Names from the Middle Ages : Eltang (1231 Ælmtungæ, 1325 Ælmætungh); Nr. Stenderup (1308 Stendorpmark, 1484 Stenderup); Lilballe (1459 Lilbaly).



Source: Trap Danmark, Vejle amt, 1964.

photo from Google earth and wikipedia.


Thursday, April 11, 2013

Hune church / Hune kirke, Hvetbo herred, Hjørring amt.


Hune church, ab. 22 km southwest of Hjørring.

















Hune parish, Hvetbo herred, Hjørring amt. 

Hune church is inaugurated to Vor Frue (Our Lady). It has a nave, a choir with apse, a west tower and a porch to the south.The nave, choir and apse are Romanesque and built in granite ashlars upon a bevelled plinth, the apse has a double plinth with profiles. The southern walls have newer windows, but the north side has traces after the original, now bricked-up windows. The north, square door is bricked-up after 1642, the south door is still in use. In the north wall of the choir is a low-placed, small, now bricked-up wall opening, which might have been a leprosy window. The tower is mostly built in bricks in the Gothic period, in same broadth as the nave and straight gables west-east. A staircase on the west wall of the tower. The upper section of the tower was later re-walled  and made lower. The overvaulted tower room, which has a pointed arch towards the nave, is now used as a burial chapel and is separated from the nave by a new brick wall. Probably at the same time as the building of the tower the church was overvaulted, and the rather high, vaulted porch was added. The original Romanesque triumph arch divides the three vault-bays of the nave (rib-vaults) from the one vault of the choir. The apse, which original vault is rebuilt in the Gothic period, is a half rib vault is now separated from the choir by a barrier wall and is used as a sacristy. The church was restored in 1937.

Interior:
The communion table is granite. The altarpiece from 1850 with a painting signed Vige 1909. Late Gothic candelabres, chalice and dish from the 1600s. An oblat box in silver, given by Jens Gleerup of Lundergaård in 1760 (with inscription). A Romanesque font with a rope stick. A late Gothic Maria figure is set up in the nave. A late Gothic Christ figure was given to Vendsyssels historiske Museum in 1932. A grey-painted pulpit from the late 1700s. Upon the north wall of the nave hangs the original altarpicture. A late medieval bell in the tower without inscription.

News since 1960: The late Gothic Christ figure which was given to Vendsyssel Museum in 1932 has now returned to Hune church and was in 1992 placed upon the wall above the altar table. 


Memorials: 

Epitaph in marble in the choir for the priest Hans Winde and wife, (both + 1741), set up by Laurids Winde 1772. Under the epitaph is inserted an oak plate, set up in 1774 by the parish clerks Christen and Jens Winde. In the choir a gravestone for ship-trader Svend Bondrup (+ 1789) and wife. A Romanesque gravestone with a carved cross is inserted in the wall of the porch. Another lies south of the nave.

Runestone:
In the tower room stands a runestone from the Viking period, which inscription is: "Hove, Thorkil og Thorbjørn satte deres fader Rumulf den rådsnildes sten." ("Hove, Thorkil and Thorbjørn raised this stone for their father Rumulf the Clever." )




Upon a farm in Hunetorp lived in the 1600s some nobles, like before 1626 Vogn Krag (Kid) (+ earliest 1657) of Nørgård in Svenstrup (Hjortdal parish), m. to Anne Pallesdatter Griis of Slettegård (+ earliest 1653); ab. 1656 lived in H. fru Maren Henriksdatter Krag (+ latest 1669), widow after Bagge Griis of Slette (+ ab. 1635), who was the brother of above mentioned fru Anne. She married since Niels Fredberg of Fredbjerggård and Trinderup (Onsild herred) ( + earliest 1652). Her daughter (of 1 marriage) Kirsten Baggesdatter Griis was m. to John Finlasson Scott (+ 1713), who lived at the farm in H. and probably bought out his co-heirs in ab. 1664. In 1679  they moved from H. , probably to Gundestrup in Skræm parish, their son Jørgen or (Johan) Scott( + 1733), sold in 1727 a farm in H. where he probably had resided.


landscape , Blokhus, photo 2011: grethe bachmann
From disappeared farms of Hune parish: Maegård was in 1611 destroyed by the sand drift, Bjørnsgård even sooner, but it is still mentioned in 1679. Klitgård was the old vicarage of the parish, but already in 1571 much dilapidated by the sand drift; in 1690 it was only a house, the name exists still in 1714. Trudsholm is in 1611 mentioned as a farm, in 1662 as a lesser house, it is probably identical with Storkborg
 

Hune kro (inn) was established in 1858,but was in 1892 moved to Pandrup.

Blokhus Mølle ( a weather mill )was mentioned already in 1688. At Blokhus bæk (brook) was until ab. 1885 a small valkemølle (fulling cloth).  

Blokhus 2011, photo: grethe bachmann
At Pirupshvarre was in the beginning of the 1800s upon Lien a guard shack and an alarm pole,  from where was lookout for hostile ships.

In Hunetorp was in 1958 by National Museum brought to light some farm sites from the Renaissance.

Klitgårds badehotel is not a typical representative of the North Jutland farms, but it stands with solid timbered outbuildings, of which the eastern originally was a living house and the western contained store rooms as a memory about the ship-traders' farms in the 1700s and 1800s in the coast cities of Vendsyssel.

In Hune parish were besides the above mentioned farms Bjørnsgård, Trudsholm, (1662 Rruds Holmen), Klitgård (1688 Klit Gaard) and Maegård (1688 Morgaard, 1722 Maagaard) also the farm Løkkegård (1665 Lyckegaard) and the houses mentioned in 1662: Schallebore and Broerbech.    


Blokhus, tourist shop, photo 2011: grethe bachmann
In Aalborg's lensregnskab (the vasalry's account of Aalborg) from the beginning of the 1600s is mentioned "Blokhuset", probably established ab. 1600 as a warehouse for the beginning skudehandel (barge trade) with Norway. It grew quickly into a small town, which in the 1700s was as profitable as Løkken.

The Hune parish was in its time very fertile and well populated with "7 farms resided by aristocracy", but the sand drift had harrassed the parish already 300 years ago, in 1582 is said that the parish "mestendels var ødelagt af sandflugt" ( mostly was destroyed by sand drift). 

Southwest of the church was until ab. 1870 a square stone setting called Tingstedet ,  which  might have been the original Thing place of the parish.

Listed prehistorics: 6 hills, among these are 4 rather large, like Storhøj at Ribergårde. 
Demolished or destroyed: two long dolmens and 39 hills, almost all in the northern part of the parish. At a large stone were found 6 uncut, thicknecked flintaxes, and at Stenmark were partly found a collected find of a spear  head and a pålstav (little axe), partly several early Roman period's stone graves.

Memorial for the author Thomas Olesen Løkken 1957 at the road between Hune and Blokhus.


Names from the Middle Ages and 1600s:  Hune kirke (1400 Hone); Blokhus (1688 Bloch Huusene); Hunetorp (1340 Houetorp/Honetorp); Pirup (1356 Pipetorp, 1471 Pirop); Pirupshvarre (1662 Huarit); Engesgård (1662 Engisgaard); Gl. Ulvholm (1610 Wldholm); Holmegård (1688 paa Holmen); Hedegård (1662 Heegaard); Brogård (1626 Sønderbroegaard, Nørbroegaard); Buj (1463 Nør-, Synder Buye, 1466 Kierling Buye, 1662 Bui); Hvarregård (1610 Huarregaard); Brogård (1638 Brogaard); Krattet (1638 Krattid).


 Source: Trap Danmark, Hjørring amt, 1960.

photo Hune church, borrowed from Google earth 2013, gb. 
photo Blokhus and landscape 2011: grethe bachmann